IExpE President

Andy Carr MIExpE

IExpE President

Andy worked for BAE Systems for almost 15 years, starting within the Land UK business as a Graduate Engineer at Chorley after studying at Imperial College, London.

He spent the first 10 years of his career completing the graduate scheme at Chorley, Bridgewater and Glascoed before carrying out a number of roles within Engineering as a designer, Product Safety Authority, Processes Manager and finally as Design Authority for all the business’ explosives processes. This time included a secondment to the MoD at Abbey Wood, in DOSG.

After that, Andy moved to P&TS at Portsmouth as the Chief Engineer for Torpedoes, moving on to cover all underwater systems, small boats and information services.

I’ve been on the council of the IExpE since 2013, my most recent role being as Vice President for Education and Training, where we’ve made great progress and have supported the creation of 3 Apprenticeships for the Industry, run multiple endorsement activities to ensure effective and professional training and are now about to deliver broad ranging qualifications to support the sector.

As President, my goal is to build on recent successes to improve the visibility of the sector to new entrants, grow the membership with a particular focus on diversity, to make quality training and qualifications available and to grow the number of professionally registered engineers across the sector.

Andy can be contacted at